Painting Tubes ???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Scollins

Hi,
I am just getting into turning PR blanks and have heard a lot about painting the tubes, which I learned why after a few tries. I looked thru the library and was unable to find any articles. I thought I'd ask here before ruining a whole lot more blanks and tubes.

- Do any particular paints tolerate the CA glue better than others?
- Is reverse painting just another way of saying paint the inside of the blank vs. the outside of the tube? Is one way better than the other?

Thank you for the help
Steve

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

- Do any particular paints tolerate the CA glue better than others?
- Is reverse painting just another way of saying paint the inside of the blank vs. the outside of the tube? Is one way better than the other?

Steve; I just use a standard spray can (Krylon) type paint. Try to get the ones with removable nozzles. Drop them in paint thinner or acetone if clogged.

Spray the hole in the blank. This prevents glue from showing thru on very transparent blanks. Depending on the dirll bit you use, you may have to use a slightly larger bit. I tend to make my tubes snug. Brass tube will slide thru the blank, but not rattle.

Imagine different colors and the effect they have. The two pens below started out as identical white blanks. One I painted the inside of one blank pink, the other light blue. They were for a baby shower. My wife's friend was having fraternal twins. One boy, one girl.

workinforwood

I always paint tubes for acrylics no matter what. If it was not necessary..well no harm done, but if it was necessary and you didn't do it..you can't go back.

I rough up my tubes and then spray them with spray paint. I use whatever is cheap and like to by the tiny cans. I always let the paint dry 24 hrs. This way the paint gets not just dry, but cured. If the paint is dry but not cured, then some paint might come off while inserting the tube.