Is it out there? If so.....where is it?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

JCooper

Newbie here,
I've made a few pens and I am fimilar with most of the kits out there. My question is: Are there "kits" or "parts" out on the internet somewhere that are as nice as the $40-$50 kits other than the ones listed at our favorite suppliers (CSUSA, Penn State etc)? I mean where do the parts come from in the $200-$1000. pen selling range come from? Are the metal parts made by the artist like we make the wood parts? I'm serious, I really do not know and can't find out. For example.....I hate to buy a $25+ kit and then turn a closed end pen and waste or not use the other parts. I guess I'm just a tightwad. Thanks in advance for any recommendation you might have. Also I have a website (in progress) and would appreciate any feedback. (Yes I am working on my photos and yes I know there is no order page yet). Please go easy, but your oponion (sp?) does matter. Thanks, Jack www.jackscustompens.com

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeffj13

I think we have missed the point of Jack's question.

I think Jack wants to know if you can just buy the various components of a pen kit instead of the entire kit. Am I correct?

To the best of my knowledge, I don't think you can. However, there are many more knowledgeable than I that will hopefully chime in.

jeff

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
The pen "kits" are proprietary designs owned by their respective distributors. On the very low end kits you can buy some of the components piecemeal. On the high end, I am not aware of any "kit" manufacturer that will sell individual pieces any more than Montblanc would sell just their finials.

JCooper