Out of round, off center pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cincinnati

My pre-teen boys and I have been turning pen kits for a few years. Occasionally we get oval barrels or barrels off center from the tube. I switched from a tapered mandrel to a collet mandrel. Then replaced the rod. I got a few round and concentric barrels. then I let my boys turn and we seem to go back to oval barrels. What is causing this?

My guess was possibly too much pressure on the tail stock causing the mandrel rod to flex. Or bending the rod while loading or unloading the pen parts, bushings, Anne tightening or removing the retaining nut.

How do I correct and prevent this?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drstrangefart

I encounter that kind of problem on softer materials. Usually the sanding process digs in deeper on softer parts leaving flat or off areas floating around. One solution is mounting sandpaper on a giant paint stirrer to make a sanding stick, giving you more even pressure. You should be able to look down the length of your mandrel and see if it's bent. Or feel the mandrel while it's turning bare. Making sure the sharpening on your tools is beyond reproach is a good idea, too. I sharpen mine every one or two pens. Also using a more gentle touch while turning and slowing your process down helps out. Hopefully some or all of these will be of help. If you have a cheap, crappy lathe, there's only one fix. A good lathe.

Russell Eaton

The nut on the mandrel could be too tight. That can cause a oval as well. If you turn between centers it will solve all those problems. There is a good article about that process in the library. Hope this helps.

randyrls

My guess was possibly too much pressure on the tail stock causing the mandrel rod to flex. Or bending the rod while loading or unloading the pen parts, bushings, Anne tightening or removing the retaining nut.

How do I correct and prevent this?