Osage Orange

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jcraigg

I am new to this so here goes I turned a pen out of some osage orange
we call it hedge in Kansas but any way The wood came from a barn and is 100+years. We tore the barn down. The pen was a slimline and it turned out nice the next day i was looking at it and it had hairline cracks all over it What caused it?
1 did i turn it to fast and made it hot?
2 Does the wood need stabilized?

I used a CA finish on it. Any ideas?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

low_48

It would be my guess that the cracks were already there before you turned it. Hedge has alot of cracks all through the wood. The center is especially bad. Hedge could never be stabilized. It would be like trying to stabilize a rock. I think that cracking during sanding is only a condition of the wood not being dry enough. Most exotics are very hard to dry because of their density. When you heat it up during sanding the wood dries too quickly and cracks. 100+ hedge should have been plenty dry![:)]
A little thin CA will set all those small cracks and they should pretty well be hidden.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
Originally posted by low_48
<br /><b>Hedge could never be stabilized. It would be like trying to stabilize a rock</b>.

Someone better tell that to BB... he is selling it and I have a couple of pieces he sent as freebies that turned like butter...

Rifleman1776