Organization?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodChucker

Just curious how some of you organize your pen parts and blanks? Do you use those clear plastic pen containers or have you come up with a better solution? Also, with pen blanks, how many do you try and keep on hand? Do you leave them as one piece or do you cut them to a ruff size for when you need them? I'm new at this and already I have to stop and dig through boxes of stuff to find what I'm looking for, so I figure I better get a grip on it soon before I bury myself. :D

Thanks......R.T.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Daniel

I keep bushings in the little nut and bolt drawer organizer, one set of bushings per drawer, labled, very easy to find what I want and I can reorganize them as I like.
pen kits stay in there bag in a shoe box+ size plastic container, as I hae many under development at once I can carry them wherever I am most comfortable to work. I do most of my designing on my couch. tried the turning there but was quickly informed I could start looking for my second wife if I ever did that again.
blanks are kept in one piece, some of them large, until I know what I want to do with them. I keep them in boxes according to there value to me. my favorites box is full of wood i havn't found the courage to ruin yet. actually I kep burls, ebony, the expensive exotics, and anything from B.B. in my best box. then I have nice but not the best box, then there is the will have to have something added to it box for laminations, combination blanks etc. they are all big boxes so there is still plenty of digging going on. maybe wee bitty shelves. sort of like a lumber yard for my sons tonka toys would work better.

William Young