Opinion on high quality kits

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

marcusicp

I am new to turning pens and have had quite a few people ask me to make them one. I really don't want to sell them the 24k slim lines and cigar pens that I have been picking up at the local woodworking shop. So I am looking for something better. As I read through the forums I am seeing alot of common problems with some of the kits.

My question is this; what kits would you recommend that will have the fewest problems? I would like to purchase the kits from CSUSA because of the great things I have heard about them. So if its something that they carry its a plus. Thanks for any help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

karlkuehn

Banned
European designer kits with decent platings are nice, as are cigars if you want a bigger pen. It really depends on the person's preference. I usually go through Ernie at Bear Tooth Woods or Bill at Arizona Silhouette unless I'm ordering Gents, Retros or Statesmans. Both Ernie and Bill have top notch customer service, and their Berea pen kits are all great quality, especially if you buy the rhodium or titanium plated kits. The chrome stuff has held up well for me too. They also carry good quality Slimlines, but I like working with the bigger stuff, although I still enjoy turning a slim set now and then. Hope this helps!:D

rlharding

Don't pass over the slims and cigars so quickly. While some members don't/won't turn the slims I don't think there is anything wrong with them. I do a good business with my slims and see it as the introductory pen that gets many customers coming back to see what else I have.

I seen wonderful cigars on the site. Don't forget to find out what your market can bare, the high end kits also go for a much higher price - I've even seen slims in the $35 range.

Have you looked through a selection of albums?

marcusicp