Olive Wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

johnkofi

I am very new at Pen Turning and it has definitely become an addiction. I found some Olive Wood at Rockler, but the price was kinda high for my budget.
The Cigar Pen that I turned seems to be very popular at the Christian University where I work and I really enjoyed turning it.
I am wondering where would be the best place to find Olive Wood and the best prices. I have found some on eBay at about $2.75 ea including the shipping.
Thanks - John

Milpaul

That's not a bad price. Ususally on ebay the more blanks you buy the better the deal. Just be sure and get a certificate of authenticity for each pen you make. Customers usually like one, especially if it is given as a gift.

Sometimes "more expensive" doesn't necessarily mean "better", but even more often "cheaper" means "cheaper". $2.75 including shipping is indeed a good price. BUT Woodturningz has BOW for $3.00 per blank, including certificates for each blank, and having purchased these from them a couple of times, I can promise you that you won't be disappointed in the quality of the blanks you'll receive.

Kadmos

Not sure if I can give a plug to companies here on not, so I hope I don't break any rules.

I bought a 2x2 six or so inch long piece of olive wood from rockler, turned into 4 rather nice pens, but they don't have nearly the figure or interest as the five pen blanks I got from Craft supply which were all really nice.

The pen blanks I saw at rockler didn't look so hot, they had a bottom of the barrel look about them, which is why I got the larger peice, but in doing so I really think I didn't get the same level of quality as craft supply.

penhead

Local Chapter Leader
Chris,
You keep this up and I might have to just have the entire paycheck forwarded to you [8D]

I would be interested in seeing some pics of nice size penblanks and also some 2"x2"x12" spindles for Xmas ornaments..[:)][:p]