Octagonal Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mocktrial

Hi there,

I'm new to pen turning. I'm an attorney by trade so i like to read absolutely everything I can before I dive in. This Site and the people on it are invaluable and extremely generous with their time and talents.

One thing I haven't been able to find on the site though is how pens with flat sides are turned.

My favorite pen is my Montegrappa Emblema. Its made from celluloid and has an octagonal shape with sterling silver section and inlays.

Lathes obviously are designed to do things round. What's the secret to going back and flattening things out?

As an aside i really love sterling silver sections. Anyone found a place to by pen sized silver rods?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

For the most part, hexagontal, octagonal and other "sided" pens are only turned at the contact points (where the wood or pen barrel material meets the hardware).

These "sided" pens may be prepared by hand sanding, after cutting the flats sides with some kind of saw, router or grinding machine. One tool that immediately comes to mind for this application is the Beall Pen Wizard. It does a very good job of making sided pens.

A member here, Scubaman (Rich Kleinhenz) has written a book called "The Pen Turner's Bible". He devotes an entire chapter to making "sided" pens using various methods. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book, regardless of your current pen making abilities.

I hope this helps! Good luck.

Last edited:

azamiryou

Rio Grande has sterling rod in 1/4", 3/8", and 1/2". At today's price, a 12" long rod of 3/8" sterling is $272.51. 1/2" rod is $472.53 for a 12" piece. Actual prices vary daily with metal markets.

mocktrial

Wow that's awesome but really expensive! Hehe especially since half of it will be wasted when i core it out.

Good resource though perhaps when im able to make pens people will actually want to buy i can spring for the silver.