Novice with question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kglass

Hi all,
I am a novice Pen turner, but been turning for a long time. I have a basic question. I purchased a 7 pen set for Pennstate Ind. and made a few blanks and made a few pens form slimline kits . When I came to the comfort pen kit it has a silicone comfort grip piece in it. The bushing kit that came with it for comfort pens does not show how to incorporate the rubber piece. The bushing kit came with two larger bushings and a smaller one for the tip. How do gauge the width for the silicone comfort grip? What am I missing here?

Regards,
Ken

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Welcome Ken!! I have never made one of those...but rest assured that some one who has will be to the rescue soon!!

Edward Cypher

Welcome to the site. I am sure someone will answer this soon. I know another person asked if they even had to use the rubber grip because they thought it looked cheap and that answer was no they did not have to use it.

eranox

Ken, I can think of only two solutions. In both cases, you would start by gluing a smaller blank to the nib end (the end that you write with) brass tube, to allow room to slide on the silicone grip. This will leave you with a stubby blank with some exposed brass tube protruding from the end. You will of course want to leave just enough exposed tube to mount the silicone grip onto.

Option one: Go ahead and mount the silicone grip before turning, but don't glue it in yet. Use one of the larger bushings on the wood side, and use the nib bushing next to the silicone grip. Turn the pen barrel as you normally would, and use the silicone grip as a guide to help you turn the blank to the right diameter. Once it is turned to size, you can slip the grip off of the tube, and then remount the blank for final sanding and finishing. This method runs the risk of damaging the silicone grip during turning.