Nova Pen Jaws on sale at Woodcraft

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sabaharr

They came in and I must say that using them is better than just the NOVA chuck alone. I ran ten sets of blanks through them and everything came out great. The added length eliminated any wobble and automatically centered the blank perfectly, which is the reason for them anyway. $$$ well spent for a change.

Mengtian

I am still new to this (In fact, I am ordering my lathe this week LOL). What is the difference between using the chuck as opposed to using a mandrel to trun pens?

jcm71

I am still new to this (In fact, I am ordering my lathe this week LOL). What is the difference between using the chuck as opposed to using a mandrel to trun pens?

Mentgian, the chuck is used to drill the hole in the blanks prior to inserting the brass tubes. A pen mandrel is used to mount the pen blanks for shaping after the tubes have been glued in. Using a chuck with the appropriate set of jaws is more precise than using a drill press to drill the holes in your blanks.

Mengtian

Mentgian, the chuck is used to drill the hole in the blanks prior to inserting the brass tubes. A pen mandrel is used to mount the pen blanks for shaping after the tubes have been glued in. Using a chuck with the appropriate set of jaws is more precise than using a drill press to drill the holes in your blanks.

Thanks. I am making a list of what to order today. Looking lke the COmet II deal with the G3 chuck (496.00) Plus some chisels, a manderl, and odss and ends plus this chuck. Will keep my under 600. The other option was the Delta or RIkon which is 619.00 without chuck.

drewdin

I purchased the pen jaws, what speed to you guys use when drilling? I guess it depends on the wood being used but is there a generic speed you use? Thanks

jsolie