Nib Fit "Tips"...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JoeyPerot

I have been turning for several months now and all in all feel like I've gotten myself through most of the hurdles I've come across.

One area I continue to struggle though is what I'm calling "Nib Fit" on my slimline and funline kits.

I've just not developed a consistent process that gives me a proper fit where my pen nib and blank meet. Most of the time it's dead on but I still have a few pens that either have a small lip or a small dip where these two parts press together.

So...what do you do that provides you with a consistent fit each and every time? What do you typically account to lose when sanding? What do you expect to "gain back" when applying CA?

I look forward to your expert advice!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

It is so frustrating when you finish a pen and it isn't quite right - we've all been there. Two main things make the fit a bit tricky:

First is the bushings used - most bushings I have seen for slims are fairly generic, and if you are using kits from different suppliers and in different styles (regular vs. funline) there is no way the same bushings could be perfect for all (or any) of them.

Second is the source of the kits - if you are using kits from different sources, or of different styles, the parts will vary in size. Add in different platings and there are even more variables.

To get the fit right, measure the pen parts where the barrels will be attached, then use that measurement, and not the bushing size, to get your barrels to the right final dimension. It takes more work, but it will get you much better results.:)

Last edited:

magpens

It is pretty hard to get a perfect fit "each and every time".