newbie with questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

coloradobob

Hi all
I have been a woodworker for about 25 years. I think I have built just about everything from furniture to wooden replicas of construction equipment. About a year ago I got into turning. I have been turning hollow globe ornaments and birdhouses to hang on the xmas trees. Just started turning pens. My questions are I am looking for a supplier for deer antler at a good price? And has anyone on the forum ever ordered from www.thevillageworkshop.net for bullet pen kits the prices seem to be very good. Thanks for letting me be a member of the group. Coloradobob from Widefield Colorado just south of Colorado Springs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

glycerine

Welcome Bob!! I can't answer your question, just wanted to welcome you to the IAP! I'm sure someone will come along and answer your question shortly... actually, it's Saturday, everyone is out in the shop!!!!!!!

edman2

Local Chapter Leader
Hi Bob,
I don't know any commercial vendor that sells antler at what I call a reasonable price. Check with meat processing plants in your area. If they process wild game you might could make a deal to trade pens for antlers or purchase them at a very reasonable price.

KenV

Welcome Bob --

"Good price" is always different between the buyer and seller.

The kits and prices in the link you provided appear to be about the going rate. A few of the members here also sell the cases with or without the slimmie kits. Sylvanite

(Eric Rasmussen - Little River Crafts Rifle cartridges (bullet pen kits) for penturning available at:
http://supplies.littlerivercrafts.com )

there are a couple of good tutorials in the IAP library -- and Les Elm has written a couple that are available on other sites that are excellent - especially as they include bullets as nibs.