Newbie Questions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bryan84

Hi all!
I'm new here and I only have about 30 pens under my belt so I'm still learning.
Mostly slimlines and roadsters so far, about a 50/50 mix of wood and acrylics.

First question. A friend took a slimline twist and she loves it but says that it keeps retracting as she writes. I've written a few paragraphs, and pressed hard as I was writing, but I can't get the pen to retract unless I twist it. Seems to be operating as normal. All I can figure is that she is holding it in such a way that is causing the top to twist a bit. Kit is from Johnsons or CSUSA, can't recall, any thoughts?

I'm basically doing this as a hobby but wouldn't mind setting up a booth at a small craft fair or two. What's the best, and cheapest, way to transport 50 or more pens. Not that they would be displayed in that cantainer, I've got a plan for display, I just want a cost effective way to transport them safely.

Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

greenacres2

Hey Bryan--welcome from up the road in La Porte!!

I've picked up a few pen binders that I carry at times, but the real answer will come from some of the folks who have been doing shows. Spend a little time in the Marketing and Shows forum http://www.penturners.org/forum/f22/ and it may provide some transport ideas.

And--make sure you post a pic of a pen each of the first 3 months in Show Off Your Pens to get entered into a drawing!!

earl

turncrazy43

The original question of the pens ink refill retracting while in use is interesting. You tried to duplicate it and could not. I suspect she did not fully extend the refill before trying to write. Try that.
turncrazy43

Chief TomaToe

I might just be delusional, but if I don't write with the pen correctly in my hand my thumb can push on the clip which slowly closes the ink refill. It's just a theory, but perhaps she is resting the clip on her thumb and is closing it that way.

mmayo