Newbie question...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joek30296

I'm still brand new at pen turning but loving it! Have turned about a dozen slimlines so far. Am using CA/BLO finish, lightly sanding with 400 grit after every 3 or 4 coats and putting on about 10 coats total. I rub the final coat with fine auto polishing (white) compound and then use PlastiX to really bring out the shine.

All that to ask my question: How do I get rid of the very fine lines of the CA. BTW, I use Bounty paper towel to apply the medium CA. Sanding doesn't seem to do it and I really can't see them until I catch the light just right.

Thanks in advance as any help/ suggestions would be appreciated.

Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bobalu

Reading what I just posted, I realize my reply isn't very clear......sorry.

Each time you sand with the blank spinning, you create rotary sanding marks. To get rid of them, you must stop your lathe and sand across the blank. Use the hand wheel on your headstock to advance the blank a little at a time, until you've cross sanded the entire blank. Repeat if you still see any rotary marks.

You also said you sand only to 400 grit before doing your polishing. On my final sanding 400 grit is usually where I start, then 600 grit, and then go through the various grits in the Micro Mesh sand papers up to 12,000 grit. Then I do my polishing.

Last edited:

Bobalu

I just noticed you are from Newnan. If you are not aware of it, the Georgia Chapter of IAP has its next meeting on Saturday December 17th, beginning at 10 AM at the Woodcraft store in Marietta. Good place to learn more about the hobby.

joek30296

Bob...thanks for the info about the meeting at the Woodcraft store. I'll keep that in mind. Looks like I have to pick up some MM as it appears that I'm not sanding fine enough before applying the CA. Guess I also need to sand more with the grain than I'm doing. Am I hearing you correctly?

Joe

SCR0LL3R