Newbie question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimS

Hello and thanks in advance for your help. I have been turning for a few years but I've never turned pens. I'll be helping my wife by leading a turning club at her middle school. I thought that turning pens would be a good start. I'll have to aquire a few things specific to pens. The first thing is a mandrel. I was looking at the Penn State Mandrel Saver Package. Is this a good product or should I be looking at something else? What pen kit would be best to start with? Any other initial advice would be welcome.
Thanks,
Jim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jp_white

Corian and inexpensive slimlines

I've had great fun teaching people to make pens using corian. It's very cheap and it's easy to turn and finish. Also, someone is selling 30 or 40 slimlines in four diffrent colors for maybe under a dollor a piece I bet you could make each pen for under $3 dollars. Good luck. I hope no one shoots their eye out. Just a little christmas story humor.

bensoelberg

Slimlines are often the first pen kits that people use, but a one piece kit like a Sierra might be slightly easier. Cost will probably be higher. If you are going to try corian, you tools will have to be quite sharp.

JimS

JP, who is selling the slimlines at that price? I'd like to get this started without breaking the bank. I don't mind investing in the kids but you know how they change their minds...today they want to have a turning club and tomorrow?????? That's why I wanted to start with pens. It's a project that can be quickly finished and it is something they can use everyday and have pride in their accomplishment.

KiltedGunn

Local Chapter Leader
Hey Jim,

I believe the thread they were referring to about corian blanks was this one...

FYI! :wink:

IPD_Mrs