Newbie pen question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kclark

I am new to turning not just pen turning. So far I love it. I have to get a handle on the light touch. But my question is I got the bottle of CA that has a very quick set. Need to get a longer set time, but anyway I have one pen where the barrell is sticking out. Is there a way to fix it or is it trash?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jd99

you could try soaking the blank and tube in a jar with acetone, maybe it will disalove (spelling) the CA.

Be forwarned if you try this with an acrylic blank the blank will end up as a bunch if little peices in the bottom of the jar.

bobjackson

Passed Away Mar 5, 2020
In Memoriam
I use medium ca and have time to place the tube, then I spray with a setting agent in boh ends of the blank. Basically cut the blank from one end and re-glue it on the other end. Welcome to the forum from northern Ohio.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
I am new to turning not just pen turning. So far I love it. I have to get a handle on the light touch. But my question is I got the bottle of CA that has a very quick set. Need to get a longer set time, but anyway I have one pen where the barrell is sticking out. Is there a way to fix it or is it trash?

in many cases, you can cut it off and insert it (the cutoff) from the other end, making the tube the original length.

IF the length is critical, as it is in SOME pen designs, this takes some time and measuring---for most pen designs, it works without much fuss.

GoatRider

If there's any moisture in the wood, or it's a really tight fit, using even thick CA is a dodgy proposition. I've had a few tubes get stuck that way. If it's a valuable blank, try drilling it out with the same bit you originally used. You'll need a replacement tube for this though. It's always good to have a few extra tubes around anyways, you can get extra tubes for most kits.