Newbie p-turner needs your advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello Everyone!

I'm an amateur turner and want to break into the pen turning scene.

I've been checking out the pen turning kits on Amazon and such. Looks like an entry level kit will be about $150. My question is am I better off to buy just tooling? Obviously I don't need sandpaper or finish and I have plenty of cool scrap wood. I have plenty of full size turning tools.

What does the beginning pen turner really need? It looks like if I bought mandrels, trimmers, turning tools, etc all separate I could add up to $150 pretty quick.

I don't want to buy stuff I don't need but I also live 60 miles from a Woodcraft store, otherwise everything has to be ordered online. I'd rather get what I need upfront instead of having to wait for UPS every time I need another piece.

Thanks for your input!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Library and a use of the Search function will bring up all the times this has been brought up in the last month.

its_virgil

No special tools are needed for turning pens. You mentioned full size wood turning tools. Full size tools are my choice and the choice of many others. The small mini tools are not needed for turning pens. My favorite is a 1 1/4 inch skew. A good place to start would be some of the reading in the library…especially the articles in this section: http://www.penturners.org/forum/f139/iap-library-penturning-101-start-here-90772/

Do a good turn daily!
Don

Beginning