Newbie needs help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rbh11g

I took a pen making class recently and made my first pen. Much to my surprise (I have no experience on a lathe) it turned pretty well. Last night I made my first pen without help. It turned out better than the first with one exception, the diameter of the barrel was a little larger than the nib. I can see and feel the diffent diameters. The pen is the Wall St. 2 from Woodcraft. When I finished sanding the barrel it was perfectly flush with the bushings. I applied eight coats of CA for a finish. Should I have applied fewers coats of CA, or should I turn the barrel slightly small than the bushing then build it up with the finish? By the way,I can see why pen making is so addictive, its fun! Thanks for your help.

Dick

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

LagniappeRob

CA does build up. So if you're going to use it as a finish you'll want to overturn it a bit, and then build it back up. There's lots of discussion on just how many coats of different CA thicknesses people use. There's a whole thread on just that subject. With just starting that's quite the achievement - some experienced turners have trouble with CA finishes sometimes. Way to go.

And welcome!

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Kit diameters do not always match the bushings exactly, so I use a digital caliper to check both the barrel and the kit parts when I want an exact fit. CA buildup does affect the final diameter, so you might need to experiment with a slightly smaller barrel and/or fewer coats of CA until you get a technique that gives you consistent results.

Welcome to the addiction.
Ed

Joe S.