Newbie needs advice...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DonNC

Hi!

I'm a Newbie wanna be. That is I'm getting myself involved in this great hobby very soon. I'm enrolled in an upcoming pen turning class and I've viewed many online "How to do it" videos.

Here is my question. I'll be buying a lathe soon and I'm a little confused because of all the model selections available. I've pretty much narrowed it down to a Jet mini lathe or perhaps a Turncrafter. Although the Jet is generally selling for about $100 more than the Turncrafter with similar features, both are in my price range. Are any of you familiar with these models? Also, should I consider a model with variable speed? Does it really matter that much?

I appreciate your advice.

Thanks, Don

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenWorks

Get the Variable speed, sure makes life easier on yourself. You will want the low rpm's when you sand and finish your pens.

Welcome to IAP :)

leehljp

Member Liaison
I agree, Get variable speed. May not seem like much when you haven't started and you may not miss it if you don't know it. But when you do use it, it sure makes a difference in changing belts. In past questions on this subject of VS versus NON VS, It seems to me that 9 out of 10 would not go back to non-vs.

I recently had a trip to the States and bought the $100 PSI variable speed motor and switch from PSI. I airmailed it back to Japan and put it on my Rikon after I returned. It saves me CONSIDERABLE belt changing and I like that! I switch speeds 3 or 4 times per blank at the flick of the knob. I would NOT enjoy going back to changing belts. Before this, I was changing belts about once or twice per blank. Now I switch the speed as needed with the knob and do it more so than when I did not have VS.

great12b4ever