newbie needs advice.....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

Of course, I just started learning to turn pens. Still have a lot to learn. ONE of my friends pops up with "I am sending you some antler. Make me a pen."
OH GREAT !!! I love the idea but I am still learning. Any advice for someone that has never turned any kind of antler.

All help is much appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Have your friend learn how to make pens!
Antler needs to be dry, marrow stabilized and/or removed. It will crack and smells like burned hair when turning...guess whats it's made of? Sharp and slow. I like a finish, CA or whatever floats your boat. Take your time, but IMHO...it's not for newer turners.

Phillikl

Antler takes a lot of time. Like said, it has some qualities that IMHO are just not worth it, it will dull your tools, it's no where close to balance to start with, it's a pain to drill, it's smelly, it's itchy, it's like chiseling granite, and many many more.....

With all that said, I do turn antler, but only for the "special" (almost have too) request. I have a set of old Buck Wood chisels, I believe those suckers will turn steel and not dull. Once I get down about 1/4" from finish I will shift over to a good sharp skew.

Best advise; turn 50 pens before trying antler. That way you have a pretty good feel for how your tools/equipment is suppose to respond.

I in no means am trying to steer you away from antler, just don't want you to get burned out on it from the start. It takes a lot of work, and when done right, a truly remarkable piece of work.

plantman