newbie here,,

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeff3285

I have turned acrylics and had good success also wooden pens,,but im not a big fan of the ca finish on wooden pens,,,normally I use a friction polish on them but for using the pen on a day to day bases it don't hold up that well,,can anyone tell me of a better finish for a wooden pen other than ca,,

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Beautys_Beast

Jeff, I hate to say it, but there is no finish that will stand up to use, like a CA finish. That's why everyone uses it. I too hate CA finish. It stinks, it's messy, my gloves always get glue on them, and then tear holes, etc. etc. etc. But when you want a durable wet look finish. CA is the only way to go.

randyrls

Jeff; As others have said CA is the best quickest finish you can apply. It does take some time to master the steps though. AND not everyone uses the same process.

What are you having problems with?

If you are having problems with CA, you have to practice doing it. I will turn a blank round (not to size), then sand and apply CA finish, now pick half the blank and remove the CA finish, change one thing slightly in your process. and refinish that half. Compare the two sides. Remove the worse one and try again. After 10 or 20 iterations you will have a great finish that you can apply quickly, easily, and reliably. When the blank is reduced to finished size, apply the most recent technique. and complete the pen.

crokett

I use paste wax on mine, with the exception of some open grained woods like black palm. While it does not give you the shiny finish that CA gives you, it doesn't dull over time with handling either. All of my early pens that I saw after being used had a CA finish dulled from being handled. Kits with much longer metal nibs such as Mesas might do better with a CA finish where you aren't handling the finished part of the pen all the time.

So far, customer seem to prefer the wax.

WriteON