Newbie having trouble with lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulSF

Hi Folks,

I'm new to this, and I'm having some issues with my mini-lathe. I have the Turncrafter Pro, the kind where I change the belt position manually. I've got my pen blanks on the mandrel with bushings in the proper place, everything is tightened up and spinning nicely, but when I put the gouge to the blank to round the corners, it stops the blank cold. Everything else is still spinning away, but the blank isn't moving. I've sharpened the gouge and adjusted the positioning, but these darn blanks just...stop.

Any thoughts as to what might be happening, and what I can do to overcome this?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

Two things come to mind:

1) Your bushing are not tight enough
2) Your loosing your glue bond, so the tube is tight on the mandrel but the tube lost its bond with the blank

Either of those?

PaulSF

The glue bond issue did occur to me. I'm using the epoxy, and I started working with these blanks after the epoxy had set up for only three hours. I had better luck with some blanks that had sat overnight.

How do I tighten up the bushings? Do you mean everything needs to be tighter on the mandrel? I've turned the tightening knob pretty hard.

Wheaties

Well you don't want to over tighten them. If you can't spin the blanks by hand after tightening, it's plenty tight.

Are the bushings right up against the brass tubes? If there is a little bit of wood between the bushing and brass tube, that could be your problem.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Paul,

Welcome!!

WHEN I have that problem, which is frequent, it is because my knurled knob has reached the end of the threads BEFORE it has made GOOD contact with the bushing. Add another bushing (spacer) and try.

Works for ME-----OFTEN!!!!

PaulSF

Thank you! I just glued tubes into a couple sets of blanks, and I'll try again tomorrow after the glue has had the night to set up.