Newbie has questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithlong

I have some questions

1. I have been searching on the net for pen kits, I found a website for Steebar, they sell pen kits. My question is, have any of you bought anything from them? They have a kit called a slimline kit and if you buy 50 or moer you can get them for 1.35 each. What ya think?

2. What is the best pen to make for a beginner?

Thanks for your help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ngeb528

As a beginner, I found that Euro pens were a good choice because they were a bit thicker but the Slimlines are really inexpensive so they work well when you're starting too (just in case you mess one up)

Wecome to the wonderful (crazy) world of turning.

Nancy

I do a lot of shopping at Woodturningz.com & Craft Supplies USA. They both have good prices.

johnnycnc

I bet you get some good replies to this one.
Steebar has not been a good company for several folks here to deal with,
myself included.:frown:
My free nickel's worth of advice: avoid them like the plague.
Plenty of other good companies out there, such as Beartooth Woods,
Craft Supplies, Arizona Silhouette, Penn State Industries, Wood-n-Whimsies, and others.

splinter99

Hello and Welcome
First off.I have never delt with Steebar but have read dozens of complaints about them for taking peoples money and not sending the product..I would also recommend woodturningz and would recomend the slimline kit as a good starting point, from there the Euro and Cigar pens are good choices

Harold

rej19

Welcome Kieth, I have never bought anything from Steebar myself. You can do a search and read lots of stuff about them. A good beginner pen is the Sierras, Aeros, Elegant Beauties, Carabas etc. These are all one piece pens using only 1 pc of wood or acrylic. They make very nice pens. They are a little more expensive but worth it in my opinion.