Newbie basic supplies

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm trying to collect the supplies for pen, bottle stopper, etc turning so that I won't get half way through making something and have to wait for a particular item. Many of you use micromesh - what grits should I get?? 1 of each, or maybe skip some? What sizes should I get - 3"x6", 6"x12" or some other? Also what type of CA glue to buy? thin - thick? and where in Canada to buy if someone knows (liquid stuff can't be shipped by mail from US to Ca.) I already have a some pen kits on order from PSI so I should be OK there (hope they get here soon). I know it's a lot of questions but any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, George:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WoodChucker

I'm new at this also, so I'll let the other guys answer most of your questions. But one thing you should get extra of is pen tubes. It's easy to get a bad glue up or a blow out while turning and need an extra tube to finish. Good luck!

R.T.

ryannmphs

First off, welcome. I am also new at pen turning, and I have been turning wood for less than a year, so I am still a "newbie".

You should be able to get the CA locally at any hobby store. I would get thin and med CA, along with the accelerator and debonder, definatly the debonder.

I have not used the micromesh yet so I can't help you there.

As far as pen and bottle stoppers go check with Woodturningz, they are generally cheaper than PSI (and it is PSI's stuff) and the staff there are really helpful. On my first order I had a bunch of questions they were answered quickly and they double checked to make sure I had all that I needed (bushings in particular).

Good luck and welcome.

Ryan

Rick Prevett