New to wood turning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bratboys3

Hi. I am new to wood turning. I saw some You Tube videos about pen turning. I was intrigued so I bought a small lathe and the basic pen making supplies. I haven't been able to turn a pen yet because I haven't been able to successfully drill out a pen blank. I have a small 8in drill press. Its drilling depth is just a shade under 2in. I've been cutting my blanks in half because I thought that's what I was supposed to do. The problem is that the two halves are closer to 2.5in. I can adjust the table up and down a bit and I can drill through the blank with some work but the hole is significantly off of center on the bottom side. Is there a neat trick to doing this that I'm not aware of? Or, do I just need to get a bigger drill press? Additionally, I don't have a dedicated jig to put my blanks in for drilling. Right now I'm using a 3in drill vise. Getting the blanks to stand straight is a challenge. I'm certainly open to any help, ideas, and suggestions anyone would be willing to offer. Thanks for your time!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dr_N

Have you checked that your drill press table and the drill bit are square? I was having this issue with an import (inexpensive) drill press. Found that it is adjustable from side to side, but the chuck and table were not square front to back. I had to build a drill press table and shim it up in the back to get it square. Doesn't sound like you have the room to add a table though and still drill to depth.

Something that might help with depth would be to insert the drill bit completely into the chuck and drill as far as possible. Then leave the bit in the blank and let the bit out a bit and continue drilling. Not sure if that makes sense, but it could allow you to gain the extra length needed to get through the blank.

MiteyF