new to turning and need my own lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Balasharc

So I am new to turning and want my own lathe. What doyou guy sugest? I know jet is a great one but to expensive for me now. I have seen the HF mini lathe but am cautious to get it. I have also seen a shop fox w1704 any opinons on it? I can get one for $160 but may take a month to get. Looking to spend around $250 on the lathe so I can have spending money for the extras to get so I can startout.

Thanks for any help,
JK

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edward Cypher

I'm sure many will chime in here shortly. I am a relative newby and the expensive part of this hobby (turning) is not the lathe. It is the tools, chucks, blanks and kits. It is addicting welcome to the insanity.

Ed

nativewooder

It may well be that you should consider all the other accessory expenses, gouges, chucks, sharpening system, etc, before you set your budget limits. My budget over the last ten years has been unlimited:eek:!

broitblat

You might want to consider watching Craig's list, etc. for a good used lathe as a way to get going while spending a bit less.

-Barry

Lee K

I bought a RIKON mini lathe in October from a local woodturner that just upgraded .. I spent about 150 ...

Its been a real good machine for me to learn on.... from pens to 10" dia bowls done all I have asked of it.... havent pushed its limits (12" swing) yet, mainly because I havent had a blank that big yet...

OOPS