New Turner Needs Help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Packinheat

Hi everyone,
Im new to pen turning (2 months) and was wondering if someone would be able to help me with a few questions and problems im having;

1. What speed should I be turning and sanding at? The locals who I have talked to around here have told me that I can turn as fast as Im comfortable with but I have some pens that I cannot seem to rid of sanding marks no matter what I try (faster, slower doesnt seem to matter). I have been sanding as slow as 1000 Rpm, is that still to fast?
  2. What grit should I start and end sanding at? I have been starting at 220 and going through all the steps right to 800 and sometimes higher.
  3. I have tried using Shellawax which works good on some pens but others come out really streaky and Im not sure why? Is it the oils in the wood?
  4. I have turned a bunch of Cabara pen kits but for some reason the nib never seems to line up with the barrel flush. The barrel sticks out past the nib on one side and is in to far on the other? All my other kits turned out fine so im wondering if its something with the Cabara kits or if my bushings are bad (they are almost new)? Im using the correct size pen mill to.
Thanks everyone, any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Ryan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

Hi Ryan!
Welcome to the madness. Those that advised you to turn as fast as your experience allows, gave good advice. I have found, over the years, that the faster I can turn, the fewer problems I encounter. There are always exceptions but "as fast as you are comfortable" is solid advice.

As for the sanding scratches that you can't eliminate, thus could very well be from NOT cross sanding. Cross sanding consists of turning the lathe off and sanding across the grain with each grade of sand paper (and micro mesh,if you use it).