new turner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

hazegry

Hi everybody
I am just getting started and I wanted to know are the prof mandrels any better than the cheaper ones? I have access to a lathe at the hobby shop on base so thats not a problem. I want to join a local turning club but I am worried about stepping on other members toes when I start to sell my pens (if I get to that point) any suggestions? I have had alot of success with shadow boxes for guys retiring from the military and I want to branch out.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

terrymiller

Jason dont worry about stepping on toes everyone I have met at Tidewater Turners has been great. Penhead one of the moderators here is the VP of the club and lkorn is also a member of the club.

lkorn

Jason,
Don't worry about it. We all build our own customer network and they rarely overlap. It takes tie and dedication to learn to make a pen properly. Now thats a real loose definition, that will differ between all of us. So as long as you and Terry stay on the base and leave the rest of Tidewater to me, we'll manage to get along[8D].

Welcome to the wonderful world of penturning.

Oh yeah, the mandrels. I don't know if one mandrel is better than the other, but the mounting systems are different. As I recall, the 'pro' model has an adjustable length, so the amount of whipping can be controlled. There are still better ways to do that, but one step at a time. Lets get you making pens first!

lkorn

Oh yeah, the mandrels. I don't know if one mandrel is better than the other, but the mounting systems are different. As I recall, the 'pro' model has an adjustable length, so the amount of whipping can be controlled. There are still better ways to do that, but one step at a time. Lets get you making pens first!

TomServo

haze: go with the basic cheap mandrel holder, and if you decide you need something spankity later, pay out for a beall collet chuck or a morse taper drill chuck.