New shop and health question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

CustomHoop

Hello all. I just purchased a complete wooden pen making business from a guy in Utah. I have built a few pens in the past. I am a civil engineer by trade. I love wood working cabinets, furniture etc. About 2 years ago I started building guitars and mandolins. I am in the process of building a new shop right now. Ther are a few questions I have if you don't mind answering. What do most of you use to control dust? Do most of you use a rerespirator? If you use a respirator what style and brand? How much should I exspect to pay for dust collection and respirator? I know over the course of the next few years I will have alot of questions. so please bear with me.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Jeffery - I use a 1.5HP Oneida cyclone dust collector in my shop. At the lathe, I just position a piece of 4 inch hose behind the workpiece and it does a great job. Others here have built hoods and such to capture more of the dust and debris, but I catch all I feel is necessary with my setup. I believe the cyclone was about $700. I don't wear a respirator, but it's certainly a good idea, especially with certain materials.

Glad you've joined us!

Daniel

Hi Jeffery.
I have been doing alot of reading on dust collectors as I am getting ready to put one in my shop. form what I have found the dust collector will easily run in the $700.00 range. there are also isues about getting the fine particals that require alot of air to move. I am planning on building my own.
for now I use a respirator. it's a half face mask but I can't recommend a spacific brand. I would recommend you go to a store that can fit and test you though. doesn't cost any more and you know you are getting it on right. expect to part with at least $30.00 with filters and all. make sure you let them know you will be dealing with fumes (CA Finishes)