New to pen turning/Carving

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

markfraser

Hello from Inverness, Scotland
I'm new to pen turning and have turned a few slimline pens over the last 6 months. I am looking for ideas and tips/help on how to adapt different designs using the slimline kits. I had seen in a book a turned pen which was later carved using a dremel into a wood spirit, I would be interested in doing this but don't know where to start.
Any help would be much appreciated as I really enjoy turning pens and creating something I have never done before.
Cheers
Mark

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Mark, welcome from the mitten. First I woudl start by turning a couple pens, though I bet slimlines would be a tough way to go because they are...well...slim. You may want to learn to get to the heftier pens with a litttle more "meat" to work with., I would then check out different kinds of power carvers as a "Dremmel" and "Foredome" may be well known, but, too are too heavy. There are power carvers that are good for fine work like a Turbo Carver
Turbo Carver II High Speed Engraving Tool - Turbo Carver II - High speed wood working carving and engraving tool
check them out.

TerryDowning

Welcome to the fun Mark!!

I will respectfully disagree with Glenn regarding slimlines.

Slimlines are quite simply the most adaptable kit out there. I just don't understand why they are so maligned. With that 7mm tube, you can have as much meat as you want! Switching to a larger inside tube reduces the amount of material available for carving. My only complaint with the slims is the rather crummy refills and not many options for higher quality.

I have done some hand carving (not on a pen though) but no power carving so no recommendations from me on that.