New to Pen turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry

Hello everyone,
I'm just getting started in the pen turning craft and would appreciate any suggestions or guidance anyone has. Also I was wondering about what kind of market exist for selling your finished products and is their a profit in doing so? If so where do most of you market your products?

I would appreciate any and all comments and look forward to hearing from everyone.

Larry Groll

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
In case you haven't already found it, my website should be helpful.
http://www.woodturner-russ.com/Pen10.html

You will get a lot of advice on selling pens. Mine is that, "Quality Sells". Don't try selling them until your pens are as close to perfection in fit and finish as you can get. After that it will depend on the style, location, and how many other folks are selling the same thing.

wayneis

Welcome Larry, keep in mind that it is much more difficult to market than it is to make pens. Turning a pen is for the most part the easy part, its learning how and what to finish with thats hard. Finishing is one of the most talked about topics around.

Good luck,

Wayne

Dario

Welcome Larry!

You got a couple of very good advise...read them and let them sink in well.

On sales...there definitely is a mrket, actually there are different markets and you approach those differently. Pricing depends highly on that market too.

I do this for fun but making a buck or 2 is always welcome. I started by giving away most of my pens last year. We will see if it pays off this year. I know I have 15 pen order from the wife of one of my pens recipient's already...and those are for Christmas [;)].

ashaw

Larry