New to Pen making

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldl1017

Hi Guys and gals,
I am new to pen making. I am a twenty plus year veteran to DIY projects, so I am very handy with tools. Lathe work is a foreign area. I am picking up a Jet mini lathe this weekend and will be ordering supplies form Penn State, Woodcraft and others. As I look at some of the drop dead gorgeous pens that some have posted, I noticed that these pens all seem to have higher end hardware on them...the clips, the ends and even the bands in the middle. Is there somplace that sells these parts individually and that are classier than what is supplied in the average kit? I am going to start on the basic kits, but would like to graduate to the nicer pens in several years time.
Thanks,
Lou

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jkeithrussell

Welcome. Click "Links" at the top of the page, then "Vendors."

BTW: there's no need to wait "several years" to start making nicer pens. The nicer pens are not harder to make. In fact, many people (including me) will tell you that the slim line and euro are more difficult to make than a fancy pen -- like a Jr. Gent. You just need to get your pen-making process down first so that you aren't learning and working through mistakes on $25 kits.

Last edited:

mbroberg

IAP Activities Manager, Emeritus
Hi Lou,

Welcome. Whatever you need, check out the classifieds in the "Buy, Sell and Swap" forum first. You will not go wrong buying from a member of this community. If you don't see what you want, ask. Also, if you haven't done so already, take some time and go through the Library. You will learn how to do all sorts of neat stuff to enhance your skills and the apearance of your pens!

Mike

ldl1017

Thanks for all the quick replies. I am constantly foraging through this site to get good info. I will start perusing the libray area. I am also going to sign up for a woodturning class that my local Woodcraft offers. It should cut down on the learning /frustration curve.