new pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

dw

I've been working on this idea for about a month or two. After one false start and several heart stopping dumb, dumb, dumb mistakes, it all came together into this latest blackwood Euro fountain pen. I'm as happy as I can be with the results. I'm none too good a photographer but the pen truned out really spectacular...especially shape and technique-wise.

I am new to this game...this is my eighth (?) pen...ninth (?)...anyway less than 12. So I'd welcome comments.

DWFII

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Daniel

Very Sleek looking pen. I know very well how hard Blackwood is to get a good finish on. but from what I can tell you did a great job on it. the focus is off just enough that I woldn't be able to see soem of the suttler boo boos though. just a comment on your photo, the first one at least. it looks liek the point of focus is about 1- 1-1/4 inches below or in fron of the pen. look at the detail in the background and you can see where it's texture comes into focus. other than that the photo is very good being a black subject. they are very hard to get a good exposure of and it looks like everything else is set up real good.
the range that is in focus is very narrow when getting pictures like this. often the front edge of the pen will be in focus but the back will not. a difference of about 1/2 inch.
Now for the important stuff. We need a full report, (preferably in the form of an artical), describing in detail every step in making this pen.
it is important thatyou include all material selection information. tools and equipment used. drilling speeds, lathe speed, finish as well as technique in application. and of course, send me the pen so that I can give you a more thourough evaluation. I'll send it right back as soon as it runs out of ink :)
Just kidding...
Very impressive for having less than a dozen pens under your belt. obviously you are a natural.

dw

Daniel,