New to this obsession …

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

socdad

I'm a retired teacher just getting started pen turning. Started with a basic slim kit & blanks cut from scrap walnut, cherry, oak I had lying around the shop. (I've finished 10 or so) I have spent several days / weeks viewing photos of outstanding work by members of this site. I am looking for suggestions for the next logical step in the learning process.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

glycerine

I'd say the next logical step is just more practice. I'd get a different type kit and turn it, maybe a cigar or a "capped" rollerball or fountain. If you want to work on some turning skills, maybe pick a pen where you have to turn a tenon for the center band. Take a look at the different types of finishes and try them. Work with some acrylics instead of just wood. Get a grinder and practice sharpening, I've been turning for a while now and still haven't done that fairly necessary step!

socdad

I've got an eight inch bench grinder with a home made jig for sharpening lathe tools.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BCVqWR1FcM0
I've turned fishing plugs for years and started on bottle stops about six months ago. I bought a couple of American Classic Rollerball kits & bushings (Woodcraft); but the bushings seem to be the same diameter as the tubes? Either I have the wrong bushings, tubes or I do not know what I'm doing (I vote for the 3rd option) What might be one of the simpler pens with a bit larger profile?

wolftat

Product Reviews Manager