New and need advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

csiler

Hi Guys
I have been watching and listening for the past couple of months and have learned a tremendous amount from you guys so I thought it about time to jump into the fray. I thought I would take this opportunity to intro myself and also ask a question. I have been woodworking for the last twenty five years, making anything from furniture to 1/16 scale models of heavy equipment. I have just recently (last two months) got into pen turning and enjoy it tremendously. I am doing our annual crafters festival this weekend at the local mall and I am planning on introducing my pen turning. My question, is it a good idea to demonstrate turning for the public? I have done so with other projects but was wonder about this one. Any advice would be appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jrc

I never go to a show without my lathe, I want to make as much as I can and turning does that. It brings the people up close. It takes me around 45 munites or so to get setup and turning, I never asimble just turn and put on the finish. Check my photos for my setup. Good luck

Skye

You defiantly don’t want to knock one out really fast while someone's watching. You want to keep a little of the mystique. Maybe do something with a lot of beadwork. You could also start with a jumbo blank so it takes you a lot longer to turn it to turn it down.

Oh, and don’t focus so much on the turning demo that you're not available to answer questions and make sales.

Hi,

Welcome to IAP as well.

I took my Jet mini to a show this spring for the first time, it was a 3 day show. It worked really well, I probably turned only 4 pens in the three days. I had a made up about 10 pen sets and had them ready to go so I always had something to do if it got slow.