New lathe for drilling and pen turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dwilloby

Hello!

I've been turning pens for a few years on my Penn State Turncrafter machine, and I'm looking to make an equipment upgrade. I also have a desktop drill press, but it doesn't do a very good job of drilling blanks straight. I've tried drilling on my lathe as well, but I have the same issues there.

Can you give me some recommendations on a good lathe for turning and drilling blanks? I would like to get either a 10" or a 12". I don't plan on turning anything bigger than pens. Can I get a high quality lathe for under $800?

Thank you for your guidance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
A friend of mine bought this Rikon at Woodcraft, likes it very much, its $649 but goes on sale every now and then.

Edit: In fact, as I was typing this, I got an email from Woodcraft with their August sale flyer - beginning August 5, all Rikon tools are 15% off.

Last edited:

stonepecker

Looks at a Jet or Rikon. I have both for different reasons.
Either will work and you can turn bigger "small" items on them. Use the Turncraft as a buffing station. You could also set it up, with some easy swaps, as a place to 'true' your blanks.
Drilling your blanks on a bigger lathe is easier. Having a second lathe means (for me) that I can leave things to spin/dry/thnik about without removing them.....and still keep busy.

Look what features they have and pick the one you like best.
Good luck.

jallan

I also have the Rikon 70-220VSR which I bought on sale from woodcraft about 9 months ago and just love it. Works great.

corgicoupe

I have an ancient Rockwell Delta lathe, and I've found it to be better than my drill press for boring the holes. I think the chuck is the key to success.

JimB

Your drilling problem may be your process rather than the tools. Just something to consider.

As others have said, Jet or Rikon in your price range are very good lathes.

mecompco