New Lathe ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

musky

Hello all, I am new to the sight. I have been looking to buy a lathe for a while now. I use to turn some fishing lures on an old lathe years ago, and wanting to get back into turning. I think I am going to go with a midi/mini lathe for now so I can go ahead and buy one without having to save for a year or so. Most of what I want to turn I can do on one of these anyways. I really like the jet 1220 but I could only afford the lathe and nothing else with it. I have been searching online for a couple of weeks now and the best deal I could find in my opinion is the PSI Turncrafter Pro VS. It seems to have gotten pretty good reviews from some other message boards. I found it on Amazon for $246 with free shipping. Does any of you have an opinion on this lathe or know a better deal on this or another lathe out there. At this price I could afford the sharpening set, grinder and maybe even a chuck to go with it.

Thanks
Jeff

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russianwolf

I had a Turncrafter Pro Non-VS, and liked it a lot. It's basically the same machine as the Jet Midi and Delta Midi, but the castings are a bit rougher (you may have to sand down a sharp edge here and there). If I hadn't upgraded to a larger machine I'd buy another.

Also check out the newer midi sized lathes over at grizzly. They look to have better quality than their older offerings at that level and I think they are competitively priced. http://www.grizzly.com/products/10-x-18-Bench-Top-Wood-Lathe/H8259 this is the cheapest they have that is a good lathe.

I just noticed that they aren't listing their old largest lathe anymore.

Last edited:

Al_T

I have a Turncrafter Pro VS and it is a good lathe and and good value. I would also look at the Steel City VS. It can be had for about the same price. If you go with the Turncrafter Pro it is always cheaper on Amazon. The one thing I like about the Turncrafter Pro is it is 18" between centers.