New guy needing advice....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

micah

Hi everyone! I'm brand new to turning and fairly new to turning in general. I'm looking at wanting to make a few pens for x-mas and was hopeing that someone could help me with my shopping list.
I have no idea what I will need.
What I do have is a lathe, and a pen mandrel. Of course the chisels and basics also.
I'm thinking about ordering some of the Cigar pen kits to start with. Will I have to have a press? Or does it just make it easier?
Any help is appreciated!
Thanks,
Micah

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Scott

Hi Micah!

Welcome to the group! I think your choice of cigar pens is a good one. A lot of us learned penturning on a slimline, but I think the cigar pens are easier. If you have a lathe and a pen mandrel, then you're almost there. When you buy the pen kits, be sure to buy some bushings for that kit. A pen mill or barrel trimmer (same thing) is a good tool to have. It flattens the end of the pen barrel square to the brass tube. This can also be accomplished by using a sander, but the margin for error is greater there unless you have a jig.

You don't need a fancy press. I still use a Bessy K-body clamp to assemble my pens. Many penturners use their drill press to assemble them.

I would suggest that you use the most highly figured wood or acrylic you can find. Pens are small, and what would look like fancy figure on a desk would be plain on a pen.