New and Frustrated

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tylandr

Hello All,

I'm new to this hobby and would like to think the money I just spent will be worth the frustration. Can somebody explain the following?

The bench top lathe came ready for a MT #2, but the mandrel in the starter kit is a # 1. Would I be better off buying a #2 MT mandrel or a sleeve that is #1 on the inside and #2 on the outside?

When I tried to insert the mandrel on the blanks (with the tubes glued and dried 24hrs), one of the pens slid to easily and when I tried turning it, I couldn't get a gouge to take any off. The other pen would have had to have been forced down the mandrel. Either blank accepted the tubes during the glue up phase and I was sure to clean any excess glue during the squaring off process.

And finally, one pen that did turn as expected, blew out a large piece just as I was nearing the bushing. I thought I was making it only to lose it right at the end.

I know this is long and probably rambling, but I'd like to think I didn't make a mistake here. If you can help me, I will certainly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rsk

If you bought a starter set in a package with a lathe, I'd be on the phone with whomever you ordered it from. You'll be better off getting the correct taper on the mandrel....the more stuff you add, the more room for inconsistency.

You could also use a drill chuck or a collet chuck to hold the mandrel.

cdcarter

First off, welcome aboard. We've all been there, but yes, it's worth it.

I'll help where I can:

-Yes, buy a #2 morse taper mandrel. They're not expensive. I think you can get it at woodcraft for $12 or so.