Needed information

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

warthog

Since I am relatively new to this scene...and since I have only turned a few pens (nothing to get excited over) just how many different sizes of bushings...drill bits and so on does a person need to really have a good assortment on hand. And just how many different kinds of pens are there any way? It seems that everytime I read this web site...I keep running into a couple I never heard of. If someone would take me by the ear and show me what is needed...you would have absolutely no idea how much I would appreciate it. Thanks.:confused::confused::confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nsfr1206

Just choose a couple of pens you like the looks of and buy the drill bits and bushings for those. Make a bunch and do it again. Of course, bushings wear out with sanding and cutting. A few pen kits may share bushings. IIRC, the jr gent and statesman jr share the same. And some of the sierra's do too.

Lenny

I would suggest you pick just a few different styles to start with.... The Slimline style is popular because it's one of the least expensive and offers many ways to customize it ... check out the articles by Don Ward here ... http://www.redriverpens.com/articles.htm
These use a 7mm drill ... as do Many other kits like the Euro, my favorite the Roadster/Anelli/Streamline and probably other names as well.

Others would argue you should start out with one of the many Sierra style pens .... Just be aware there are several different versions each using slightly different bushings, tubes and drill bits. The advantage of this style pen, among other things is it uses only half a pen blank.

The other I would suggest you try is the Cigar style. This uses a 10mm drill bit. A very popular style, it is a big pen giving it more room to really "show off" a nice blank!