Need some tool suggestions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

penworx

I am new to penturning and have already made a big mistake in my opinion by purchasing a non-variable speed mini-lathe. The other is that my dad gave me and old Black and Decker drill press and the bearings are shot...It couldn't drill a straight hole for a million bucks....I'm looking to replace the drill press and the mini-lathe...suggestions?

Doug

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

Are you just starting out? Trying this to see if you like it? Then either get a Harbor Freight mini lathe with vs or look for a used lathe on craig list. Is there a turning club near you? Go there and talk to the members. Maybe someone is upgrading and you can strike a deal.
Don't forget the classifieds here in the IAP. Welcome and good luck.

Jim Burr

Banned
What mini-lathe do you have Doug? I'm not aware of any that are single speed...but I don't get around much! Drill press if a big variable!! Table or floor, travel length, chuck size...lot's to talk about there...I'm in the market for a new to me DP too!

edstreet

How old is the lathe? Beyond the return period? Variable speed is somewhat over rated in some viewpoints but it does have it's perks. What what specs like make/model/info on the lathe?

The press you can replace teh bearings and get some decent life out of that. Is it an antique press?

turncrazy43

Rikon makes a reasonably priced mini lathe. Woodcraft frequently has them on sale for around $350. They are variable speed. The Jet mini is also reasonable and is VS. Buy a Jacobs chuck and drill your blanks right on the lathe. I prefer the Delta Midi 46-460 as is has a reverse feature that is awfully convenient.

CrimsonKeel