need more travel to drill pen blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

scottm

Hi everyone, I'm new to pen turning and I'm trying to find out the best way to drill my blanks. I don't have enough travel on my drill press or tail stock (2 1/8" on each). So far I've used my drill press and moved the drill bit a bit lower in the quill to drill out the last part of the blank but this is a bit time consuming. I'm looking for some suggestions on how I can drill that last 1/4-1/2" and a new drill press is not in my future. Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Got any small bowl blanks?

6 x 6 x 2 ish

Drill until you run out of travel, clear the blank and lift it, put the 2" riser under it, drill again---repeat as necessary (often of you are doing peppermills, only a couple times for most pens)

monophoto

My drill press quill has a 2" throw - in theory, that matches many (but not all) pen kits, but in practice, that's not really enough to align the bit and allow it to make a clean opening at the bottom of the hole.

My lathe has slightly more travel, but even that is limited, and there are kits that require even deeper holes.

So my take on this is that apart from spending a lot of money on specialized tooling, there is no simple answer.

When I'm drilling on the drill press, I use an approach similar to Ed's suggestion. But instead of bowl blanks, I keep a pile of scraps of 3/4" timber under the bench. I drill the hole as deep as it will go, lift the blank and slip a timber under the bottom, and then continue drilling. If necessary, I can add more timbers to get additional depth. And because the timber scraps are reasonably sized (4x6" or more), they will sit squarely on the drill press table.