Need kit recommendations for newbie please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bluesguitar

I've been turning pens for about six months and have done about 25 pens. I'm happy with the woodturning results and have learned by trial and error and watching lots of Youtube videos.

I've been using kits from Penn State Industries and I'm not always happy with the quality of the hardware. One exception is their "Sculptured" line, and I'd like to find other kits with that kind of heavier, higher quality compoenentry. I've also done their cigar pens and the "Graduate" line, which is a little better.

I've looked at kits on other sites but they look like the exact same ones as the PSI kits.

I'm mainly doing twist mechanism ballpoints. I don't want to spend a fortune on each kit, but the $10-15 range would be OK.

Could any of you recommend a source for higher quality twist mechanism ballpoint kits? Or is PSI the main manufacturer and others just re-selling the same stuff?

Thanks so much,

Mitch

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Sorry, as a vendor, I can't name names.

But, I can tell you the pens that look alike are not identical. Particularly the "Big Ben" is not identical to the Cigar---nor are all cigars identical to each other.

My BEST advice, Buy ONE or TWO from a vendor and make your own judgment--or PM me asking for the information and I will respond with additional info, by PM or email, which is permitted if you request it.

IPD_Mr

Personally I like the elegant beauties and the aeros for a one peice ballpoint. I also saw where someone took the old style silver bullet pen and reworked the nosecone section. It no longers has a ring around it. Much better looking design, but have not held one.

RogerH

Hi Mitch: