need help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rickry6092

I am having trouble with blowout when turning blanks.
It seams that when I get close to the finished diameter I chip the wood.
I don't get this problem when I work with plastic.
Any help would be apreciated.
Thank You
Rick

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Dull tools or the blank may not have been glued good to the tube in that spot. I have looked at the tube when that has happened to me and could see that I had not glued the tube in very well, as in no glue on chipped off piece or tube where it broke.

JessPens

Hi,

I am fairly new to pen turning but I will throw in my newbie experience for what it's worth. I have had the same problem and all I can do is add three things I have tried.

First, is this happening on the end of the blank? I found that for some reason I was not getting enough glue on one end of my blanks so now I take a q-tip and thouroughly swab glue thru the entire blank. Make sure you sand the brass tube, I forgot this once and every blank blew out when turning. :frown: I then roll the brass tube in glue and insert it half way and spin it around. I then remove it and roll it in glue again and insert it from the other end twisting it as I insert.

Second, for some woods that seem to be more brittle I turn less and sand more. I get the basic shape of the pen pretty close but leave enough room to sand. I found that I was trying to save sanding by turning but this wasnt working out well for me.

Third, be very patent when drilling to clean out the brass tube and square up the edges. I found that my bit was heating up enough to melt the epoxy glue, I am not sure what this does to the strength of the glue after it dries but it made me nervous and I have slowed this step down to avoid having this problem. I want to switch to CA glues after I use up my epoxy.

I hope this helps...

Jesse

Last edited:

kovalcik

"I found that my bit was heating up enough to melt the epoxy glue"