Need help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dave_Junior

I am still new to pen turning and just began turning acrylics. I am having an issue with getting a good surface after turning. The pen barrels have divots and other depressions that I can never seem to get out. I am using a brand new Rockler square radius carbide cutter tool to turn and cannot get a smooth surface. Anybody know what I am doing wrong?

Thanks,
Dave

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mecompco

Dave, I don't use carbide tools, so that may make a difference. A lot depends upon the blank--I find that Inlace Acrylester is prone to this sort of problem. These days I pretty much just use a sharp medium-sized HSS gouge on all sort of acrylic blanks. I turn everything at full speed. I am very gentle until the blank is round, then I get a little more aggressive, backing off again once the blank is getting down to final size.

If you're unsure if you can get a smooth surface with the chisel, finish turning a bit proud of the bushings and finish up with paper--that's what I did for quite a while.

If you have ANY pits, they will not come out with Micro-mesh, so use 400 grit dry to get rid of them.

That's my recipe for acrylics, FWIW.

Regards,
Michael

leehljp

Member Liaison
You are probably too aggressive. Sneak up on it. tiny bites. Start from the end and barely barely touch and move the cutter.

I too have carbide cutters and I never use them on brittle blanks, wood or acrylic. As Michael does, I have my own made HSS gauge and I take a swipe across a 600 - 800 sandpaper every 30 seconds or so to keep it razor sharp. Quickness at getting to the finishing point is your enemy. Quickness at getting it rounded is your enemy. The point is a finished pen, and not how quick you can get there. Impatience is not noticed but it is there!

Dave_Junior

Thanks guys, I probably am too aggressive and wanting to finish the pen quicker then I should. Ill try taking it nice and easy and see how it goes.

RKB