I really appreciate the help.

We've been racking our brains...

Attachments

• IMG_20121128_200129_943.jpg
    IMG_20121128_200129_943.jpg
    27 KB · Views: 239
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nativewooder

You know, not meaning to be critical, but you could buy your pen blanks from IAP vendors or from members, who know the name of every piece of wood they sell!!! Except me! I've bought so much wood that the ink wore off the wood!:eek::biggrin:

NotURMailman

I usually do, but the price was hard to beat. 100 blanks for less than $50 including shipping. And if I mess them up (since I'm new at this) I won't care! I didn't think any one would be bothered by me asking for some help when I wasn't quite sure. My apologies.

monophoto

Don't think it's oak.

Is the grain open or closed? It's hard to tell from the picture - it almost looks like cherry, but I would need to touch it to know for sure.

OOPS

Based upon what I have seen and been told, there are two types of Tulipwood. Blank #4 certainly looks like Brazilian Tulipwood, which is generally a light colored wood with bright reddish grain lines running through it. The other type of Tulipwood grows in the eastern U.S. It can either be light or dark, but is more "creamy" in texture (if that's an appropriate description.) Because the rest of the group has the well defined reddish grain lines, I would say that its all Brazilian Tulipwood. Personally I have not seen any that is this dark before, so perhaps another with more experience can chime in. One thing I can say is that Tulipwood makes great pens, IMHO.

plantman