MY REASON FOR A DUPLICATOR!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonyc53

Hi GUYS,

Here's an additional reason why I asked that question. Since I have NO experience in turning at all, I was figuring that with a duplicator, I would be able to cut those more difficult contour/profile pieces/pens.

But I guess I have to exercise patience and learn the basics. However, trust me, if my learning curve is too slow…Look Out, a duplicator would be on my wish list!!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Tony,

In my opinion, if you get a duplicator, YOU will not learn to make the curves and contours you desire. Get some cheap boards, rip them, and turn between centers to practice your skills. Trust me, and don't ask me how I know this, a nice piece of burl is not the place to learn how to use a skew!

As a rough comparison, if you want to learn to paint, you don't use a color copier rather than a paintbrush.

No offense intended, I hope none was taken.

Wrong reason.

You should learn how to turn first. I can turn a pen faster and better than any duplicator.

The only reason you need a duplicaor if you are turning hundreds of pens out and need an exact match for each pen.

arioux

Hi Tony,