My First 3 pens!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bryfox86

So I am very new to this art and am having a blast! unfortunately I do not own my own lathe so I have to use the ones at our wood shop on base. That really limits the time I can get on and use one. otherwise I feel I would be confined to my garage turning pens all day and night long. Well here are the first three pens I have ever turned... please don't be too harsh but let me know if I am on the right path.

Pen One... Made of KOA used a Friction polish and bees wax finish.
497e835a.jpg

Pen Two... Made of Kamani used a Friction polish and bees wax... learned that turning curly wood can be much more difficult to turn because of the alternating grain directions. Also learned the wrong way to press a cigar pen together (notice the lack of a clip)
7b788d20.jpg

Pen Three... Made of Red Heart used a Friction polish finish. Learned from my mistake on pen two and pressed this one together correctly. actually pretty happy with the way this one turned out!
2f6a70ad.jpg

again please let me know what you think!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lenny

I'd say you are already making progress!
I remember getting the bushings mixed up on one of my first cigars, lol.
Keep your first few pens so you can look back at them a year from now and compare your progress. Good job!

ironman123

My First 3 pens

Bryan, those look good for the first 3. Last one shows lots of improvement from the first one. Keep those to look back on in 3 months and see the difference.

Good job.

Ray

edstreet

OK coolness. One old trick (this is a very VERY old GI trick for M1/M1903 stocks) is this: melt the bees wax, add ONE of the following, tung oil, boiled linseed oil, danish oil, or teak oil to it. Let it dry and apply it like shoe polish!

shippy