multi lead threading

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

buster

Just wondering if you multilead thread a barrel do you have to do the same to the cap. I wouldn't think you would but then again I have no experience on this matter.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Paul in OKC

Nope, the threads won't match up. Technically a multi-lead thread is several coarse pitch threads run at offsets. Makes it look like a fine thread at times, but the pitch is different.

buster

Ahhh, I get it now. The reason I was asking is that it seems easier to thread the barrel multilead than it is on the inside of the cap. Someone on the FPN site made it sound kind of simple to multilead thread on a lathe but didn't really get into internal threading. Is there tooling small enough to get into a pen cap?

Texatdurango

Originally posted by buster

Ahhh, I get it now. The reason I was asking is that it seems easier to thread the barrel multilead than it is on the inside of the cap. Someone on the FPN site made it sound kind of simple to multilead thread on a lathe but didn't really get into internal threading. Is there tooling small enough to get into a pen cap?
You need to remember, even the most difficult tasks to most of us is a simple routine chore to some. I've talked to pen makers who make cutting multi-start threads, a walk in the park.

Yes, actually there are cutters small enough to thread the inside of a fountain pen nib feed housing. Threading is the main reason I just purchased a metal lathe and with a little luck will be cutting threads soon, then with a lot of luck, multi-start threads soon after that.

Chuck Key

Could you use a single threaded cap on a multilead barrel, or would that defeat the purpose.