More Than PenTurning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rebfan04

I admit it, I'm hooked on Pen Turning. But I would like to learn how to turn a bowl. I live in Mississippi. Does anyone know of any lessons that are offered here in this area, does not have to be in Mississippi.
Thanks Roger

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Dig in and do it.Just take it slow and you will learn from your mistakes.I am self taught and i'm sure alot of others on here are too.You will learn from experience.Watch some videos and start with a soft wood.It is fairly easy and you will be surprised how fast you will learn.

steeler fan1

I admit it, I'm hooked on Pen Turning. But I would like to learn how to turn a bowl. I live in Mississippi. Does anyone know of any lessons that are offered here in this area, does not have to be in Mississippi.
Thanks Roger

Roger;

Check for turning clubs in your area. Rockler, Woodcraft and other woodworking stores offer classes, some are free, some have a fee. Also check youtube. Do a search on bowl turning and you'll find a mirad of videos.

Good luck on the bowls.

Carl

wjbowling

Roger,

You should also check classes at your local Woodcraft store. If there is nothing scheduled, you can request a class, but I am sure there will be something.

Wes

LeeR

If you do not have a Rockler or WoodCraft nearby, but maybe a nice woodworking store, try that. We have a small wood store / mill shop in our town and they teach all kinds of classes.

Also, I've learned a lot from watching You Tube videos on turning. You just need to search with a few key words to find all kinds of lathe tutorials.

Finally, if all else fails,you could buy a book from Amazon! :biggrin: ( I actally own several books on turning, and several books on pen making. Sometimes there is nothing like flipping the pages of a book.)

Mac